Skip to main content

New Jersey Joins The Paid Sick Time Movement

  • Email
  • Linkedin

On May 2, 2018, Governor Phil Murphy signed bill making New Jersey the 10th state to require employers to provide paid sick leave for employees. The law, which takes effect on October 29, 2018, requires employers to give workers one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, with an annual cap of 40 hours. Importantly, the new law also gives New Jersey a statewide paid-sick-leave policy, superseding similar provisions enacted in 13 towns and cities across the state.

For a copy of the bill, see here.